Holy cow it works! Oven cleaning with Essential Oils!

Hi everybody! Spring cleaning = doing all the jobs that we put off because we hate and therefore the mess has become absolutely disgusting.  So I guess my oven COULD be worse, but we’ve only lived here for 5 months.  I pretty much suck at cooking and everything bubbles over (you think I would just start putting a cookie sheet under my baking stuff… but I don’t… I obviously refuse to learn from my mistakes lol).  So ANYWAYS…. I clean everything else in my house with essential oils, so why not the oven?  There was this pin that I came across on Pinterest and it looked promising.  I had to tweak it a bit to fit the ingredients I had on hand… but WOW!  This literally took no effort.  My arm was not cramping, I did not break a sweat, and there was not one powerful chemical used! 🙂  I’m pleasantly surprised….. definitely give it a try and make one Spring Cleaning task a little easier!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  1. 1 cup baking soda
  2. 1/2 washing soda (I used my Borax)
  3. 1/4 cup sea salt
  4. 1/2 white vinegar
  5. 10 drops Orange Essential Oil
  6. 10 drops Melaleuca Alternifolia Essential Oil
  7. a splash of water

20150402_205529[1]

In a large bowl combine the baking soda, washing soda, and sea salt.  Mix it all together.  Drop in your essential oils and then pour in the white vinegar (your kids will love that part! foam city!).  Mix it all together.  Then just add a little bit of water at a time until your mix is like a thin paste that you could spread. Open the oven door and spread it all over your gross areas so it looks like this:

20150402_210120[1]

We did this right before bed and let it sit overnight.  In the morning all I did was wipe off all the whiteness with a wet washcloth.  I had to put a little muscle into a few spots, but all in all if was pretty effortless.  And seriously look how clean it is!!

20150403_074132[1]

I am so stoked that this worked… makes me wanna do more Spring Cleaning!!! Well, almost…. 😉

Thanks for reading and good luck with your own ovens!  Let me know how it works for you!!! These are the essential oils that I used and where you can get them –> order here!

And if you’re looking to join a fun, fast-growing, responsible, and knowledgeable essential oil team we’d love to have you!  Read about Oils & Us here:  Oils & Us!!

Leave a Reply

