Celebrate & Decorate with Kids!

One of my mom goals for 2015 is to make each holiday special in some way.  There’s like a ton more holidays than I thought lol and I needed some cheap ideas.  So here’s something that we’ve been doing.  I know you have some construction paper in your house.  If you don’t, go ahead and fulfill that momly duty and add some to your arsenal.  For each holiday, write out a saying on construction papers like this one.  One letter per page.  Then get to work!  We try to get creative for each letter and use different mediums too… paint, pencils, crayons, markers, felt and glue.  You can even make themes for the letter like some of the rainbows above complete with “gold doubloons” and some dots or shamrocks.  We hang it on the wall with some clear tape and admire it! 🙂  This wall is in our dining room, but an entryway or bay window or empty wall somewhere would work too!  Here’s the one we did for Christmas:

20141202_143951

We did Happy 2015 for New Year’s and Be Mine for Valentine’s Day, but I didn’t take pictures of those.. sorry 😦 I’m still new to blogging!

I was inspired for this idea by something similar I found on Pinterest.  It was a banner of some very tastefully done pennant shapes.  I’m not professional or even close to Pinterest-Perfect and definitely not an artist… so this was the best I could do.  In our house it’s more about the creation, the memory, the lesson, and the time spent together anyways… isn’t that how it is in your house? 🙂

Thanks for reading and spending your time with me!  Happy decorating!

Leave a Reply

