DIY Lotion Bars with Essential Oils

Hi my friends!!! Today I wanted to share a really fun project that I did with the boys.. my four year old just loves his oils lol Lotion Bars are something I’ve been seeing a lot of on Pinterest and with the dry itchy skin of winter, they seemed like the perfect invention!  So I chose a recipe that sounded good and ordered all of my ingredients from Amazon.  Heads Up:  There are SO many cute cute silicone molds to choose from and they’re all so cheap!  This rose mold that we used came out just beautifully 🙂

So how do you use a lotion bar?  You just pick it up and massage it with your hands.  The bar will melt into your skin and leave it soft and smelling like heaven ❤ I also rub the bar up and down the dry spots on my legs and arms too… and my son, Parker loves to hold them and take a big whiff of his hands.

Here’s how to make it!  So super easy!  This is the second batch I made since the first came out sort of greasy and a little harder than I’d like.  So this second batch was perfect!

Melt the following in a double boiler:

2.5 ounces of coconut oil (I used unrefined because I like the coconutty smell in my bars)

2 ounces of Shea butter

2 ounces of Bees Wax

About 20 drops of your favorite Young Living essential oils.  Some of the combinations we liked were Orange EO and Grapefruit EO, Lavender EO and Lemon EO, and Rosemary EO and Peppermint EO.  All came out so so awesome!  Adjust your number of drops to your preferences.  The first batch we used about 16 drops and the smell wasn’t as strong.  These roses are Lavender lemon and we used 8 drops of lemon EO and 16 drops of Lavender.  The aroma is perfect!

**Add the essential oils to your mix once it is melted.  Give it a quick stir and then pour it into your molds.  Let them sit on the counter for about 15 minutes to set up and them move to the fridge for an hour.  They will be ready to pop out of the silicone molds to start using or to gift wrap and give away!

I just brought a couple to my new Army wife friends at our Cards Against Humanity game night 🙂 Of course they loved them and had never had a lotion BAR before… it’s such a cool, new idea!

A quick word on clean up:  While the oils are all melted in your double boiler, wipe them out with a paper towel before trying to wash them in the sink.  In the first batch, the oils set up when they hit the water and coated my sponge brush.  A huge pain in the ass.  Second batch was much easier to clean lol

Leave me a little note if you try these and like them! 🙂

If you are in need of some essential oils, you can get them HERE!

And if you’re interested in becoming a member of Young Living and joining my super knowledgeable, responsible, creative, experienced, and supportive team… you can join us here!

Just look at all you get with your starter kit 🙂 The opportunities are endless.  Thanks for reading and creating with me!

7d9b81bdad8c59def02e6f510f52f736

Leave a Reply

